Skip to content

B.J. Freedman – International Man of Letters

April 6, 2010

Dear readers, not a lot to report. This is an informational blog that, frankly, lacks information.

Just read the books, available in their latest versions at Smashwords. The second book, TBOATYO, is not quite complete, but expect it soon. It’s a riot, really – you’ll either fall out of your chair or throw it against the wall.

Enjoy. And if you’ve bought either book, feel free to comment here.

TBOATYO coming very soon – just deleting cliches and adding some stuff.. maybe a week or so.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 10:52 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Carey permalink
    January 24, 2013 4:22 pm

    I cannotget the phrase “…started out like a normal day out of my mind.” Great opening and a great little book.

    I cannot find TBOATYO on Smashwords.

  3. January 24, 2013 4:59 pm

    Carey, TBOATYO coming soon. Up at Smashwords in a week, I hope at Amazon soon after. I have to say it is hilarious, disturbing and lots of other things.

  4. Xander permalink
    September 24, 2014 6:18 am

    I recently discovered A Natural Lizard Activity (loved it) and just finished TBoaTYO which was even better. Both novels have a strong and distinct voice and are beautifully written. They are both humorous with engaging plots and, of course, wonderful description. I am looking forward to the third installment and wish I could find Mr. Freedman’s other works in this genre.

    • September 24, 2014 9:09 am

      Xander, thanks for the kind comments. As you can see, I have been completely lax about keeping up with the blog, as I’m still working at various jobs… a third book is still a gleam, though I know what it’s about. Thanks for finding the books on Smashwords, or wherever you found them. I tried publishing TBoaTYO at Amazon but the (apparent) lesbians in charge at CreateSpace said I was violating them…er, violating their guidelines. This is a company that has six editions of Naked Lunch available. But that’s what I get for publishing now, and not in 1956.

      I also have some more stories, rather lurid and comical in the manner of stories of mine that Acolyte published in their collections eons ago. They make no pretense of possessing much in the way of redeeming social value, but they’re funny and may get you itching… I may out them up at Smashwords.

  5. Xander permalink
    September 24, 2014 7:52 pm

    Both of your novels are currently available on Scibd app and via iBooks app. I bought mine from iBooks. And, you are correct, Amazon offers print editions of “Lizard” at exorbitant prices but no digital editions. I’ve tried to find copies of the old Acolyte readers but they are currently demanding high prices as well. It’s a shame that for all our supposed “advancement” in regard to social issues that novels like yours can’t find a publisher when Nabokov’s Lolita is considered by many to be one of the top 100 novels of the 20th century. Lolita is a masterpiece but I wonder if it would even be published were it offered for the first time today. Of course people seem to be much less squeamish about heterosexual intergenerational love than homosexual. I’d be willing to bet that if your protagonist was Barbara instead of Bernie your novels would have much greater acceptance. Not nearly as entertaining for me, but probably more profitable for you. That said, I encourage you to publish your previous Acolyte work. I will buy them.

  6. November 4, 2014 7:29 am

    The Amazon books are old Acolyte print copies – the Acolyte owner died soon after Lizard was published, leaving no will, no heirs and no instructions, so someone shipped what was in Amsterdam to the USA, and any USA stock was now free… so some guys in Florida cornered it all and sell it on Amazon, and I get nothing… I have tried to shut it down without success. The joke, of course, is that they’ll refuse TBoaTYO but keep Lizard posted. Give me a break.

Leave a Reply

